Idioms about fruits and vegetables

I am getting used to my English friends bump into me every morning with a greeting expression as “Hi, how are YOU”?. My answer isn’t straight forward when I said something different recently as “I am full of beans“. Moreover, I thought I’d be a very good idea to use some unusual English idioms which incorporate fruits and vegetables!

 

Seriously, just when you thought English couldn’t get any more bizarre, you find out that English speakers have expressions with fruit and vegetables! Let’s see some of them.

 

To be full of beans

it means to be full of energy and excitement; e.g, “Rodrigo is full of beans today, he must have gathered the good news“.

To go bananas

it means to go crazy both in a good way and a bad way about something; e.g., “Carol went bananas when she heard that Adele will be playing a gig at Manchester Arena“.

To have a pea brain

it means to be uneducated or stupid; e.g., “That new student has a pea brain, I have explained the meaning to him many times but he doesn’t get it“.

To be like two peas in a pod

it means to be exactly the same as someone else. Normally doing the same personality traits; e.g., “They were two peas in a pod – they liked and did all the same things, together.

To be a bad apple

it means to be a bad person; e.g., “I think Martha is a bad apple. Have you noticed how she behaves behind her parents back?“.

To be a banana republic

it means to be weak or corrupt country; e.g., “This country has become a banana republic. I’m leaving as soon as I get the chance“.

Life is a bowl of cherries

it means life is easy and beautiful; e.g., “Life in the Bahamas is a bowl of cherries, why would I want to go back to the city?“.

 

 

What do you think!?

JM.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

